Information about stage 7: Stage from Torres del Rio to Logrono
- Km 0. Torres del Río (Shelters. Bar. Shop. ATM)
We leave Torres del Río through the upper part and its last streets give way to a track that in turn gives way to a later path. This ends up hardening and emulates the layout of the NA-1110 (old N-111), a road that we cross in full ascent to reach the hermitage of the Virgen del Poyo (Km 2.7) . The sanctuary, in ashlar and very sober, was built in the 16th century and reformed during the Baroque and 19th centuries.
- km 2.7. Virgin of the Poyo
We go down again to the NA-1110 and follow it until we leave the curve, where we take a path that goes up to a secondary road that goes towards Bargota (Km 3.6) . We continue straight along the road and leave it a hundred meters later to take a track. Thanks to it we can more comfortably descend the Cornava ravine , a drop of more than 125 meters as a result of water erosion. Not everything is clay, repopulated pine trees and some fruit trees grow here, and at the bottom of the ravine there are geometric plots of vineyards and olive groves nourished by the semi-arid land.
- Barranco de Cornava (Bar from Easter to October from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.). Telephone: 652 183 765.
Arriving at the bottom of the hole we continue between slides and paying attention to the crossings. Our route is traced to that of the NA-1110 and therefore it is not surprising that we end up walking along it (Km 7.5) . After a kilometer of asphalt we exit to the left and continue parallel to the road until the entrance to Viana. We advance to the center of the town through the streets El Cristo, La Pila, the Trinidad portal, the Plaza del Coso, where the Balcón de Toros is , and finally, the Calle Mayor, which leads to the Plaza de los Fueros. Here, face to face, the Town Hall and the church of Santa María , a gothic church of superb dimensions and proud of its original Renaissance façade, come together.
- km 10.5. Viana (All Services)
We leave Viana next to the Ricardo Campano school and along a track between orchards we will cross the NA-7220. Later we will do the same with the NA-1110 and we will also continue along the track to the hermitage of the Virgen de Cuevas (Km 13.3) . If someone needs a rest, they should know that behind the hermitage there is a pleasant wooded area with tables and a fountain. The day passes between cultivated fields and, when we reach a sign indicating El Bordón Observatory, Laguna de las Cañas (Km 14.6) , we turn right to enter briefly into a pine forest. Then we cross the road, be careful, and continue along the slope next to another mass of pine trees until we get close to the Ebro paper mill , where the provincial limit is located. Navarra, who has accompanied us for 142 kilometres, gives way to La Rioja . A stone marker with the old inscription -Logroño province- confirms it (Km 15.9) . From here it will be a walker who will guide us to the capital of La Rioja. We enter Logroño by the stone bridge over the Ebro , from 1884 but built on primitive reforms that were built in the 11th century by Santo Domingo de la Calzada and San Juan de Ortega . After the ford, pass the roundabout and turn right onto Rúa Vieja street, where the municipal hostel is located.
- Km 20. Logroño (All Services)
- Start leg breaker:The first three and a half kilometers, until you cross the Bargota road, are a continuous up and down that is quite annoying, especially at the beginning of the stage. The descent through the Cornava ravine also loads the legs a lot.
- NA-1110:Watch out for the crossroads on the NA-1110 road (formerly N-111). Although the traffic density has decreased thanks to the construction of the highway, it is still frequented by the residents of the area.
ters, until you cross the Bargota road, are a continuous up and down that is quite annoying, especially at the beginning of the stage. The descent through the Cornava ravine also loads the legs a lot. NA-1110: Watch out for the crossroads on the NA-1110 road (formerly N-111). Although the traffic density has decreased thanks to the construction of the highway, it is still frequented by the residents of the area.
What to see, what to do
- VIANA: Viana is the last town in Navarra on the Camino de Santiago. Founded by Sancho el Fuerte in 1219 through the grouping of small villages in order to defend Navarre from Castile.
- City hall: The town hall is located in the Plaza de los Fueros. It was finished building in 1692 and its façade responds to the classic canons of the French Baroque. In its portals is the tourist office. This information point is open, from Easter to October 12, from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. and from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. and closes on Sunday afternoons. The rest of the year it opens from 9 to 14 from Monday to Saturday.
- Church of Santa Maria: Of superb dimensions, Santa María is Gothic. It was built between 1250 and 1312 and enlarged between the 16th and 18th centuries. The doorway of the epistle, the one on Calle Mayor and next to which lies the tomb of César Borgia, is Renaissance and set a precedent for future construction.
- LOGROÑO: It is the second major city on the Camino Frances, to which it owes its development and urban growth. Once the territory was reconquered, at the beginning of the 11th century Sancho el Mayor traced the new itinerary of the Camino, which from then on crossed the Ebro through Logroño. At the end of the XI (1095), Alfonso VI of León granted him the Fuero. Logroño is fundamentally a city of services with a famous commercial network. Its old town is full of bars ( Calle Laurel, Mayor, Mercado ) and shops (Portales) with a good hospitable atmosphere. The emblematic place of Logroño is the Espolón with its beautiful gardens full of people chatting, leisurely, all of them under the majestic statue of General Espartero.
- Bridge over the Ebro: To enter Logroño you have to cross the Ebro, the mightiest river in the Iberian Peninsula. For this, a bridge was built in the 11th century, attributed to Santo Domingo de la Calzada and San Juan de Ortega, in a natural ford of the river. In 1884 the works that completely reformed it were completed.
- Cathedral of Santa María la Redonda: On August 15, 1959, the until then Collegiate Church of “Santa María de la Redonda”, by special concession of Pope John XXIII, received the title of Cathedral. The façade is Rococo and its La Rioja-style twin towers bear the names of San Pedro and San Pablo.
, the until then Collegiate Church of “Santa María de la Redonda”, by special concession of Pope John XXIII, received the title of Cathedral. The façade is Rococo and its La Rioja-style twin towers bear the names of San Pedro and San Pablo.